How To Delete a Facebook Group – With ScreenshotsUpdated: February 28, 2019
If you came here then you didn't find the button to delete a Facebook group. But don't worry, you are in the right place.
Let's be clear from the beginning: there isn't a button or an option to delete a Facebook group.
“Then how do I do it?” you nervously ask.
The first obvious step to do is to go to your group, by clicking on it from the left section of your newsfeed.
You must get to the Members section and you can reach that by either clicking on the right part of your group's screen:
Or you can also see all of your members by clicking on the Members tab, right in the left part of your screen:
As we said, there is no simple option or a simple button that can delete a group. Maybe Facebook did this because they want to make sure that groups won't be easily erased. Sure, if you would delete a personal group by mistake, that would be fine. But imagine you built an entire business out of a Facebook Group and you somehow erased it by mistake. That will be something hard to see.
Facebook specifies in its help section that you must do these steps but doesn't explain why. If you as an admin want to leave the group, that still has all its members, you'll see a pop-up after you click “Leave group” button found right under the group's cover.
That pop-up explains that if you, the admin, will leave the group, someone else will be offered to be the admin.
That is why the best thing to do is to first remove all the members, and ONLY after that to leave the group yourself, as an admin. Otherwise, you'll risk that someone will take control of the group and you won't be able to delete it anymore. After this, the group will automatically be deleted.
Though you have to know that the members won't receive a notification that you left the group, nor Facebook will randomly invite someone to be the admin of your ex-group. Instead, members will see in the right part of the screen a Statement: “This group needs an admin”. Just below this, there will be a link that says “Suggest an Admin”.
If a member clicks on that link, they will see an input bar, where they can write the name of the person they want to make an admin, and they will also see a link that says “Make me the Admin”.
Members of a group with no admin can actually make a poll, post some ideas, and then choose a perfect person to be the group's admin. Or they simply can make themselves admin if they think they can do it.
Right, so removing all the members of your group can be a difficult task to do. It is a big one, it will definitely take some time, especially because you can't remove multiple members all at once. You must think very well if you really want to delete your group because deleting a Facebook group it's irreversible.
Another thing to consider is your group's popularity because while you remove members of your group, other members can be invited in, even if your group is secret. It is best to make an announcement before proceeding to delete the group, just to let the members know what your intentions are.
Just to be sure that there will be no situation of members not seeing your announcement and therefore keep adding members, you can archive your Facebook group.
Do this by going clicking on the “…More” button and then on Archive group option. I've mentioned this in a previous article.
In this way, you'll be sure that no new members will be added to the group, and you'll soundly remove all the members of your group.
You can actually consider archiving your group instead of erasing it if you want to keep a reference to all the ideas, discussions, posts that were there. I repeat, members will not be able to invite any new member, nor they can post anything.
Just click on “Leave group” yourself right after you finish removing the members, and voila, your Facebook group is deleted.
The first thing you must do is to go to the group you're managing. You can go there by tapping on the right down corner of the app on the three horizontal bars. After that, just scroll down a bit, until you find the Facebook Group Tab. Tap on it and then click on your group.
If you tap on the group's type, right under the group's name, you'll see a pop-up with 4 quick options:
- add to favorites;
- edit notification settings;
- leave group.
To quickly get yo your members, just tap right under the group's type, on any of the photo profiles.
Another way to see the members is by tapping on admin tools. Facebook introduces this new UX, trying to make things easier for those that manage groups.
Tapping on this feature will take you to a section where you can choose from:
- member requests;
- admin and moderator activity;
Tap on the Members button, because we are interested in that. Here you'll find all the members of your group.
Delete all of them here or go on your laptop and do this there – it can be easier.
After this, tap on Leave group. Even though you won't see a sudden change, just click the back button right up in the left corner of the app. You'll see that the group will disappear from your group list, meaning that it is deleted.
That's all you have to do to delete a Facebook Group. Keep in mind that if your group is big or you've developed a business out of it, you'd be better to just Archive your group. Deleting all of those members can be a time-consuming task. Of course, you can Leave the Group yourself. Someone else will be able to take the role of an admin.